Posted in Uncategorized

The Question

Currently listening to: Mac Miller, Live from Space
Sipping on: french press coffee (not my first choice, but it’ll do).

-A few weeks ago I had another dream where a friend was pregnant. As you know, this happened a few years back with my buddy G and his lovely wife. When they confirmed the news, I was completely floored! So, in my dream I could only see her hair, but even after she told me, we cried. Each night it was the same concept, different scenario. Scanning through my mental list of who it could be, I finally let it go. Two weeks ago, some friends of ours came over and while we watched the Lions pre-season game, I got a little gut nudge that it was her. Of course I didn’t say anything. That night another dream. On Saturday, while at a BBQ festival downtown, she confirmed it to our entire group of friends. I jumped up, swallowed the piece of blackberry ginger ice pop I was eating and said, “I KNEW IT!” Why the Universe picks my brain to get this information is beyond me. Although, I won’t lie, it is always exciting.

-There’s another poetry contest coming up and the deadline is this Friday. Last night I laid in bed scanning the info on my laptop, mulling it over. Grand prize is having your work published as a chap book, plus 25 copies for yourself. I just don’t know. I just don’t know.

-In the earlier part of the summer, we lost our college radio station during the hours I’m actually awake. You can imagine how stoked my son and I were when we noticed the HD dial had another station. Turns out we found the college radio stations other channel.

-This entire post feels forced and stupid.

-I used to share so much more. There was no forcing. Events were hilarious. I was good at retelling them. I enjoyed sharing them.

-I wish people would quit asking me why I didn’t have any more babies. Or worse yet, give me what my chances are, in percentages, now that I’m 35 and drink two scotches a week. Fuck off.

-I’m ready to start college. Where I’m at now is not where I want to be. In the grand scheme of things, my five year plan needs to get rolling.

-Strike that, reverse it. I hate the term “five year plan.” Ridiculous.

-Why is it so hard to keep up with the laundry?

-I took MD to a concert on Sunday night. We had a great time pointing out the drunk moms. From what I gathered, the look of the summer is cut off shorts, doc martens and flannel shirts. That officially made me feel old.

-In five years, (there’s that phrase again) when my son graduates high school, I hope to take him to Japan. I want him to see where we lived, the phone I used to call home, the vending machines, the beef bowls and oh oh oh…takoyaki by the train station. Over the summer break, he had to read The Last Lecture and then write a list of things he wishes to accomplish/do/share/etc. I noticed one of those things was to hike Mt. Fuji. Hopefully we can make that happen. Even if I have to sell pencils on the street corner.

-I miss my short hair. Already back to a bob. There is zero time to drive up to Nashville for a visit with my brother to cut it. Maybe by Christmas.

-Also, I still want to move to France.

-And make a 15 layer cake.

-And get just ONE poem published.

-And

-And

-And

 

One thought on “The Question

  1. 1) Enter the contest. There is no try, there is only Do. or something like that.
    2) for the love of all that’s holy, please do not EVER have a dream about me being pregnant. Never. DO NOT DO IT.
    3) You are amazeballs and you need to know that. I went back to school at 37 after 17 years. I still have 2 more years to go, part-time and all, but I know I’m ready for that career change. And it will happen after I am 40. FOURTY. Because that’s in 1.5 years. OMG. But I have learned that there is no rush on living dreams. There’s some pleasure in taking it slow and appreciating what you’re doing and where you’re going.
    4) you are amazeballs.
    5) you are also awesomesauce. I am very, VERY thankful that the internet brought you into my life.

Leave a Reply

