Posted in Uncategorized

Foods: Meatballs

Have I written about meatballs before? It’s possible. I can’t quite recall though.

Anyway-

Meatballs it is tonight.

There was a time when I had no idea how to cook any meat whatsoever (I’m still not that great with chicken). When my son was a toddler, we lived off yellow rice, dried pasta that comes in a small pouch (just add water!) and Hamburger Helper (minus the Helper). Those were tough times. Have you ever had spaghetti sauce out of a metal can? It’s not awesome. Back then, I was on W.I.C and was able to get plenty of milk, eggs, peanut butter, cereal and cheese. What I wasn’t able to get was fresh veggies and tasty meats. Trust me, there is nothing worse than having to choose between making a supper that will last two days or fresh apples. At that time, I didn’t really know how to cook much. If it came in a box or can, I was good. If a microwave was involved, even better. 

When Md was about three, I picked up a Food & Wine cookbook at K-mart on clearance. It was a splurge, but the chicken on the cover was so delicious looking, I had to take a chance. From that day forward, I did whatever I could to make suppers from scratch. I learned quite a bit about spices as well. Rosemary? No. Tastes like soap. Turmeric? Use it sparingly. Apricots? Do not taste awesome on top of pork chops covered in cayenne pepper. I still have this cookbook. It’s stained up with fingerprints and grease splatter. There are also plenty of red pen marks saying; DO NOT MAKE. GROSS. written across the top. This was also about the same time I discovered that Kraft wasn’t just macaroni and cheese. To this day my favorite recipe is making mini meatloaves in muffin tins. For fun one night, I made some mashed potatoes and piped them onto the meatloaves like frosting and then crumbled bacon and chives on top for sprinkles. Oh yeah! Mom for the win on that shizz.

Today I’m fairly comfortable cooking and creating in the kitchen.  One of my favorites to make is meatballs. Honestly, you cannot go wrong with meatballs! After years of recipes, I finally found one that I like best and it’s awesome. The original recipe is from Ina Garten, but a few links down from her link is another blog using the same recipe (small adjustment: Amanda uses 1lb of pork & ground beef where Ina uses 1/2 lb, plus veal. VEAL! Lucky).

BEHOLD.

MEATBALLS.

Seriously, you cannot go wrong with this recipe. They are cooked perfectly through at 400 degrees at 30 min (or a bit longer if you want a little crunch). True to Amanda’s post, they taste best when baked and I highly recommend them. Even if you are used to frying yours in a pan. Hey, baked is healthier, right? Right (says the lady who justifies eating baked Cheetohs).  Also, the recipe posted makes a bounty of tasty goodness. This batch I was able to get about 35 meatballs. Depending on how you roll yours, you could get more.

MORE MEATBALLS! Let us REJOICE!

I’ve come a long way since tomato sauce in a can and disastrous meals. I wouldn’t steer y’all wrong, promise.  So with that being said, what do you like best with your meatballs? Straight tomato sauce? On a hoagie? Salsa? Cheese sauce?

Okay, wait.

Let’s just be honest here, the possibilities are endless.

Now y’all go eat up!

 

Leave a Reply

