Posted in Uncategorized

Coffee, Jazz & The Like

In the past 72 hours:

1. I finished knitting a tam.  Sounds like no big deal, but I am horrible at knitting hats. Really. The most simple project, I ruin. Usually it happens during the decreases and it’s due in part to the fact that I am wobbly with double pointed needles.  I was able to hang out with my knitters on Saturday afternoon and thankfully my super hot BFFer Marcie was there! She helped me transfer the stitches from the circular to the dpns.  I was on my own from there and I successfully finished the hat.  Huzzah! 

2. The days at the gym are going really awesome.  This afternoon I worked with my trainer on a few things- mainly the fact that my hips aren’t aligned. I used the opportunity to sing Shakira while flinging a 20 lb kettle ball around.  My diet is on track as well.  I’ve been following the low carb diet over at I Breathe, I’m Hungry. I’m not sure if any of you have ever gone low carb, but holy hell the headache today is brutal.  I’ve decided to cut out all soda, which is where the headache is stemming from, I’m sure.  That and the cookie withdraw.  While going over my schedule with the trainer man, I mentioned how I’ll fall hard off the wagon and inhale a bag of M&Ms in the CVS parking lot. We talked a little bit of how that’s an emotional retreat for me. That there’s more than likely something else going on that’s leading me to binge on candy.  Which brings me to point 3:

3. I’m still trying to quit smoking.  My God, this is the most difficult thing I have ever had to do. I have an e-cig that I use, I have a purse full of nicorette gum, I have peppermint gum, I chew a pack of straws and sometimes, I have to smoke. However, I’ve gone from smoking a pack a day to maybe three a day. I’d like to ween myself from the ecig and nicotine all together.  The gym obviously helps with me not wanting to throat kick people and throw fits in public spaces.

4. MD’s birthday is coming up in a few weeks! He’ll officially be a teenager and I’ll officially start turning gray faster. Although he is what we call, an “old soul.”  We’re still hashing out plans for what to do that night, seeing that he doesn’t have school on Valentine’s day.  Yesterday I was gathering paperwork together (you have to have a ridiculous amount of paperwork to renew your license here) and I saw MD’s birth certificate.  On the back, it lists my occupation as “housewife.”  I remember how furious I was over that.  I looked at MD’s Dad and said, “I thought I told you to tell them I was a poet!”  Ugh.  I laugh about it now, but at the time, not so much. 

The fact that I’m the mother to a teenage son completely blows my mind.  A girlfriend of mine had posted one of those “What Your Friends Don’t Tell You About Parenting” articles on Facebook last week.  I mentioned how I was just so burnt out on all of those.  You know why? The damn things only talk of the horrors of parenting up to age four (maybe). It’s article after article about how you’ll never sleep again. You’ll never have sex. You’ll never go out to eat. You’ll never this, that or the other. OR if you do get to do any of those said things, then you feel guilty.  

You know what? That’s bullshit.  I took MD with me everywhere. Museums, restaurants, parks, movies, summer parties, the beach. The one time he did have a meltdown in a restaurant I was with my Dad. I started to get panicky and began to gather my things. My Dad looked at me and said:

“Sit down. You’re never going to see these people again. Finish your meal. He’ll get over it.”

You know what? HE WAS RIGHT. Md got over himself, calmed down on his own and hey, life went on.  It was that day that I realized I was going to always look at the meltdown from my son’s point of view. That’s probably the best damn thing I could have done. I used short sentences when he was a toddler, I asked him to explain why he was pissed. Sometimes it worked, sometimes I had to send him to his room until he could talk calmly. Either way, we got through it.

So friends, if you’re pregnant or have small kids- quit reading those bullshit articles.  You’ll have lots of sex again. You’ll get to sleep in. Actually, once your kids hit about ten? They’ll sleep till eleven a.m. and you’ll be the ones up at the crack of dawn. Teach your kids how to pour their own cereal, it’ll give you time to lay in bed longer. And if they make a mess, SO WHAT. Teach them how to clean it up. The point is, we all parent differently and what you do that works best for your family is awesome. YOU are awesome. 

PS: I may revise this when my son enters high school in a year. That’s a whole new can of worms.

Now, what else?

4. I cooked an epic supper this evening! I had the day off work and spent the morning at the grocery, doing laundry, cleaning up and prepping food.  Later in the afternoon MD and I snuck out for some nigiri and hit up the international farmers market for fresh veggies. Nothing makes me happier than to have supper ready to go for my family when they all come home.  At the market, I found whole chickens on sale, so I picked up a few. I have this one dish I make that is phenomenal. PHE-NOM-ENAL! Seriously.  So here’s the gist of it:

4 tblsp butter

2 tblsp sundried tomato paste (I actually chop fresh sundried tomatoes and mix with tomato paste)

3/4 C feta

S&P to taste

Mix this together and slide it up underneath the skin of the chicken.  Cover with foil and roast @ 375 (20 min per 1lb 2oz). After 45 min, add your veggies (I mix it up- tonight was brussel sprouts. Other times I’ll use squash, zucchini, eggplant, whole garlic).  Continue to cook, Last 30-40 min, remove foil and finish.  I also use the juices left in the pan to whip up some gravy.

There’s never, ever a bite left!

Now, I sit here listening to Miles Davis, sipping on some coffee and just relaxing.  It’s been a really productive day. I miss staying at home and having shit together. It’s nice to go about the day and never feel rushed or under deadline.  Everyday should be like this, right?  I know, a girl can dream.  

Which reminds me:

Stay lovely and stay dreamy!

 

xo

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

