Posted in Life

Taken By Surprise

Mid Sunday afternoon, I fell asleep on the couch with my dog.  We had been watching a program on Queen Victoria.  When I woke up a few hours later, the house was filled with delicious smells, as my husband had started supper.  My right hand was asleep and my right leg still warm from the dog snuggling against me. I knew then it would be a late night.  Napping always does this to me.

True to form, at eleven pm, I was wide awake and resisting another documentary on television.  I decided to go to bed. At the top of the stairs, I closed the laundry doors and headed into my room on the left. I began to strip the moment I walked into the room, leaving pieces of clothing scattered behind me. Crawling under the covers, I laid there for a moment, before getting back up to cut off the closet light.  Then I cut the fan on.  Back under the covers, I leaned over and set my alarm.

For the next thirty minutes, I laid there.

This nagging feeling came over me, so I turned over on my side. My right arm searching down along the bed rails.  Finding my deck of tarot cards, I plucked one from the center and placed it under my pillow.  I had no idea which card I’d selected, but figured it was the cards nagging me for the better part of the night.

Shifting back and forth under the covers, I leaned back over the bed and turned on this meditation music I’ve been trying out.  Within a few minutes, I felt sleep coming on. It crept up my toes and into my eyes. It was a dreamless night, but I recall knowing that I was in a deep slumber and thinking, “Don’t wake up quite yet, you’re not done.”

I woke up thirty minutes later than scheduled this morning. After the panic receded, I reached my hand under my pillow, pulling the card I had placed there six hours prior.

I pulled the Two of Air.

I smiled and thought, “The quieter you are, the more you hear.”

As if that wasn’t enough, my phone dinged while I was holding the card. My daily horoscope popped up saying that I’ll never know what will happen until I try and that things will feel a lot more interesting by the end of the day, due to my great energy.

To the Universe, I’d like to say: noted.

Leave a Reply

