Posted in Life, poetry, Writing

Comparision and Fire Protection

I wanted to write you out today, but I wasn’t sure how to begin.

Should I compare you to:
dried fruit, crumpled leaves, broken glass, perhaps a groggy morning.

I thought maybe I should go this route:
dirt under fingernails, gum on the soles of rubber bottom sneakers, reheated fish

Yet, none of those seem to apply.

You are constant though.

Like the beep of a smoke alarm at 4 am
With pauses long enough to drift off,

but not before you screech again

souring my mood

and chilling my skin while I stand on a chair

to knock you from the ceiling

into silence

Leave a Reply

