Posted in Uncategorized

Day 01: Introduce Yourself

November 1 begins the thirty day write-a-thon!  Not only am I participating in NaNoWriMo, but I also challenged myself to write one post a day, everyday, for the month of November.  You’d think I’m some sort of overachiever, but that’s not even close to the truth. 

Day 1 is an introduction. 

This seems slightly irrelevant, as I feel like a majority of you know me. Actually, I don’t think some of you do, which is the whole point of this.  Either way, I suppose I should get on with it already.  For the past few days I had been thinking of how I should introduce myself. I even Googled, “How to introduce yourself.”  Don’t do this.  Unless you’re seeking employment and want to answer that age old question from HR, “So… tell me a little about yourself.”  Gah.

What is it that people want to know about me? Why is it that writing about yourself is so difficult? I mean, you’ve known yourself for quite some time, you’d think this would be a no brainer. 

It’s not.

So, without further ado, I give you, me.

I am weird. It’s okay to say that too. Many people do. It never hurts my feelings.

I am now in a new age bracket in online surveys.

I do not like the way satin or silk feels on my skin.  I hate balloons.  I listen to music about ten hours a day.  I write poetry, which I don’t like to share.  I don’t like when people are upset with me.  Actually, I don’t like to see people upset at all.  

I struggle when life isn’t fulfilling. I am indecisive. I try to find beauty in monotony. I always focus on the positive, even in the most dire situation. 

I am infertile.  When people ask me when I’ll have another child, it hurts in a way I cannot put into words.  I mask my pain with humor. If my response to you is ever a joke, it’s probably because you’ve said something that hurt me and I could never tell you so. 

I am married to such a wonderful man. He’s balances me out and has taught me patience in ways I never really imagined. We compliment one another and I still get butterflies when he winks at me.

I can be a very, very dark individual. My sadness can manifest before I have a chance to stop it. I can be cruel in my thoughts, but not my actions.

I am not defined by any title.  

I don’t fit in and wouldn’t want to.

I have a small circle of friends that I feel safe and comfortable with.

I am marvelous and unique in a way that sets me apart.

I am Catholic. I meditate and read tarot cards. I pray the rosary and try to spend time in the Adoration Chapel. I give thanks to Mother Earth and the Universe.  I believe, that we are all equal and that we should love one another and lift each other up in beautiful, positive ways.

I do not like to make lists, but I do it anyway. 

I am in love with love. I enjoy dreamy feelings and having time to myself to decompress.  I encourage others to try and do the same.

I am a Mother to a teenager.  Yes, this stresses me out. Yes, I love it.  Seeing the world from his view point is refreshing. Teaching him about the world, good and bad, is enthralling. I know that when I send him off to college, I will be lost- for a certain period of time. 

I am a sister.  A daughter. A friend.  A best friend. 

I tend to be too trusting. This doesn’t always work out for me in the best ways and in the past few years, I’ve started to shut myself off a bit.  I want to give everyone the benefit of the doubt, however, some wounds never heal. 

The moment I think something negative, I instinctively remind myself of what I’m thankful for.  Every Friday, I post five things I’m thankful for or five things I tried to do to give back to someone else. 

So in a nutshell, I’m just a regular chick. I have my insecurities. My quirks. My oddities. We all do, right? Writing this intro was harder than I thought it would be. I struggled with what to say, how to say it. Sure, I could’ve written paragraph after paragraph about my entire existence, but lets be honest- there’s only so much I can do and so much you can deal with.  I began the post that way, but decided against it.  Instead, I jotted down who I am the moment I thought about it.

And for the record, Introduce Yourself isn’t just a blog post.  It’s one of my favorite albums by Faith No More. 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Day 01: Introduce Yourself

  1. I came here as soon as I got to work hoping for a post and then… nope! But now, just when I needed a break from work, POOF! Yay! I adore you. I don’t know if I’ll be able to write every day (because I’m already 3 weeks behind in my school work. Ulp!) but I’ll try. For you. Because you inspire me and I adore you!

      1. I remembered you mentioned wanting to blog every day in November and I was all, “Hey! It’s November TODAY!” so I came by. I like to read your blog when I can’t think at work anymore. ha!

  2. Yay. I like how you did yours, different than mine, but we both still answered the question/topic. Very cool. I’ll have to come back when at home, to load the “media”, which is blocked at work. Bullocks!

Leave a Reply

