Posted in Uncategorized

Adventures in Cooking

Friday afternoon, I chanced upon a recipe for chocolate chunk cookies.  My mouth started to water a bit (okay a lot).  I’m a sucker for cookies, cake, pies and the like.  I’m a junk food junkie, I can’t help it, it’s in my DNA.  So I started to read the recipe and felt a wash of disappointment come over me. 

The dough was made of chickpeas? The hell you say. 

I still bookmarked it and figured I’d give it a shot anyway.  My husband has been wheat/sugar/gluten/ free for several months.  He’s lost quite a bit of weight, no longer suffers from heartburn and feels really great.  If anything, I’d make them for him. We’ve had a long weekend of digging in the dirt, slicing open fingers, being eaten by bugs and all sorts of other lovely nonsense, so why not have a treat. 

The original recipe is over on The Hairpin.  The “I Dare You” cookie is one that satisfies, that’s for damn sure. I was pleasantly surprised to find that when you grind up chickpeas in a food processor, they make a dough.  WHO KNEW?! I added the peanut butter, honey, pinch of salt and baking powder.  Once I mixed that some more, I gave it the “raw cookie dough” taste test. 

Dude. 

It tastes like raw cookie dough. 

I actually clapped my hands in the kitchen, that’s how happy I was. 

The 1 1/4 cups of chickpeas made about eight medium sized cookies.  I had opened two cans of chickpeas, so I was able to whip up another batch of just peanut butter cookies for MD seeing that he hates dark chocolate.  Popped ’em in the oven and cooked for 14 minutes on 350. 

End result? 

Deliciousness!  See: 

Image

The only thing I have to say about these is that they are really dense. One cookie satisfied my sweet tooth, that’s for sure.  I don’t think I could eat more than two, which I guess is pretty good for me, right? Right. 

Now that I know this recipe is legit, I’m looking forward to making the zucchini brownies that I also found on The Hairpin site.  If you make these cookies, let me know how yours turned out and if you tweaked the recipe at all! 

Happy Eating! 

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Cooking

Leave a Reply

