Posted in Uncategorized

Cuppa, Cuppa, Cuppa

Coffee.

Elixir of life, so I’ve heard. 

Lately I’ve been trying to ween myself off of the stuff. It’s been tough man.  I have a stunning coffee pot, a Keurig and a lovely espresso machine. None of which I have time to fool with at six am while I’m packing lunches (dog food sandwich anyone?) and screaming upstairs for everyone else to hustle it up.

A few years back, I quit my desk job to become a nanny.  Coffee was essential for one simple reason: I had forgotten how much work taking care of a little human required.  Holy hell I was exhausted some days.  I often tell my best friend (I was his nanny), that I appreciated the refresher course on parenting.  Once the Little Human headed into daycare to make friends and learn how to survive during playtime, I went back to work at a coffee shop.

Whew.

The first few weeks I was there, I couldn’t figure out why I was sweating like I was pulling landscaping duty mid August. Turns out doing shots of espresso every hour will do that to you.  Then I’d come home and crash, sleeping for hours.  Eventually I figured out a happy medium on how much I could drink (when really, shouldn’t it just be one ristretto and maybe a con panna after work?).

Now, I simply settle for a cup of coffee in the morning and one in the evening after supper.  I grew up with coffee on tap and spent a majority of my teenage years drinking coffee at Waffle House while smoking cigarettes and writing in the back corner booth.

I feel like I need to find that signature drink for myself though.  That one drink I can’t live without.  Is it out there? Will it come for me and wrap me in a warm, delicious, steamy hug that will make my brain zing and keep me happy?  Only time will tell.

Until then, remember to keep your drinks simple and effective!

One thought on “Cuppa, Cuppa, Cuppa

  1. Yeah I never touch the stuff, never drank coffee at all except the few sips from my parents when I was a toddler. I still remember it. I was thinking; “What is this cardboard tasting liquid?”(and how do I know what cardboard tastes like?) Oh, Im a toddler….Anyways the elusive drink of choice CAN be found. It was called Corona Light. However, I quit drinking the frosty brew over three years ago, so now its Mountain Dew Livewire. However the only place you can get it is in a 20 oz. bottle at a gas station. (If they even have it) Now I am down to water and regular Mountain Dew with ice in a solo cup or my Tervis Tumblers to get the taste consistency right. I have gotta call the local Pepsi bottling place here in Cookeville to see where I can get canned Livewire again……

Leave a Reply

