Posted in LINKS

That Moment When… Now With Links!

Currently listening to: Placebo, Pure Morning

The other night my Mom popped in for supper.  I had roasted a chicken the previous night (slathered with hot Thai chili paste, sesame oil and sesame seeds) so I figured we’d eat that.  Yeah. That wasn’t really going to work with a family of four. Luckily my Mom travels with food and just so happened to have a Pyrex bowl of roast. I kid, she doesn’t travel with food all the time.

Anyway, the Hubs whipped up another brilliant meal of left over roast, which he layered with polenta, eggs and cheese.  Damn good.  After supper, we all piled into the living room to catch up on a little Ridiculousness.  Mid way through the show, my Mom asks if we’ve seen the cat dressed as a shark riding a roomba.

The what?

Holy shit. My Mom knew about something on the internet before I did.  APOCALYPSE! I honestly can’t quit laughing when I see it.  Check him out here

Currently working on my fall wardrobe and yet again, I find myself sucked into Modcloth for hours.  Currently lusting for this beauty

Show us the DONG!

Lake Bell just made my heart zing and I’m wondering how many ladies (or fellas) will get this tattoo now?

Design, Eat, Repeat has some cute DIY recipe cards over on her site!

I present to thee, Sir Murphasaurus Rex:

Image

Raven Symone kicks so much ass.

$68 bucks for shredded sweatpants? Oh internet. You asshole. Or you could buy that oversized sweatshirt for $89.  OR YOU COULD JUST BUY ONE AT GOODWILL FOR THREE BUCKS.

I love Eat,Sleep,Draw

ImageOver supper yesterday MD was talking to the Hubs and I about how some kids at his school had no idea who Jimi Hendrix was.  I nearly dropped my fork. What? How do you not know who Jimi Hendrix is? Isn’t that one of those life requirements? Holy hell. When MD mentioned the infamous “27 Club”, they were also clueless. I think it’s time we start including Classic Rock 101 in the school curriculum.

The final would have one question on it: Van Halen vs Van Hagar.

On Tuesday afternoon, I had to go to the eye doctor. I always put this off a few years. Okay, maybe once every five years.  I realized I needed to go for an exam when I caught myself covering up my right eye at my desk to read a spread sheet.

So while I’m sitting in that weird eye doctor chair in front of the machine, I start to panic a little, because I can’t really see the letters.  “Does this look better? Or this? How bout this? And this? Now this?”

“Uh. None of those.”

He moved the machine away.  “You can’t see any of that?”

I nodded and then whispered, “Do you think I need…. bifocals?”

Guess what?

ImageI need bifocals.

On my way home, I started feeling kind of down about it.  I mean, I’m a few short months away from being “middle aged.”  Sure, that’s not that big of a deal, but I can specifically remember sitting at a bar when I was in my early twenties thinking, “Damn dude, that’s a long ways off.”

It’s not.

So to feel better, I called my Dad.  Who panicked because apparently when he answered I was all, “DAAAAAAD!” in one of those panicked daughter voices.  In the end, I wound up laughing at my Dad laughing at me. Good times.  My pockets are a little lighter and hopefully by Saturday I’ll have my new specs and should be able to properly see.

Fingers crossed.

Oh and while I’m on the subject of glasses, check out these mutha’s. If I would have known before hand that I needed specs, I would’ve placed an order! Seeing that  we’re also on the topic of vinyl… when you pass away, what a more kick ass way to be remembered then to have your ashes pressed into a record!

I think my Dad will be happy to know that I no longer want to donate my body to the Body Farm in Knoxville.  Do you hear that Dad? I want to be pressed into a record.

ImageAnd then there’s this:

ImageBecause we all would love to be fed sea slugs, right? Mmmm. Slugs.

Also, according to MD, everyone is obsessed with Penny Boards.  Anybody wanna sell me one? C’mon….

I think a body cast would look really hot with my new bifocals.

Don’t you?

One thought on “That Moment When… Now With Links!

  1. i’m trying to rectify my failure as a music loving father, currently cranking the Jimi in this house. When I asked my 14-year old “Do you know who Jimi Hendrix is” he responded “Max’s dad?”.

    And I’m adding uncrate to my cool websites to check-out list. It’s kinda like coolmaterial.com

    Your eye doc didn’t talk to you about mono-vision and cheaters? you just jumped into the deep end. Good for you, I’m still wading out slowly.

Leave a Reply

