Posted in Uncategorized

Crash Test Cooking

You guys, I think I may have found my “thing” to write about.  As in constantly.  More so than the What I’m Wearings, the Shoes of the Day, the Murph of the Day photo and even the ever so famous (as of lately), “Screw you internet, I’m DONE!” posts.

Oh it’s good.  Real good.

A few weeks ago, I made a crack about microwave cookbooks.  Or more specifically, one that I saw at the thrift shop that included, on the cover, HOW TO COOK PRIME RIB IN YOUR MICROWAVE.  Yes, that needed to be in all caps.  Why? Do you know how much freaking prime rib costs a pound? No? A LOT.  And this lady just straight up cooked it in the microwave? You gotta be shittin’ me.

So yesterday, MD and I were trolling the new Goodwill that opened in town. I had my heart set on walking in and finding the record player of my dreams.  No dice. Which is a damn shame, because I have a crate full of wicked cool albums from my Dad, my father in law, my Mema and what I picked up while living in Nashville.  Anyway, we were goofing off and what not, when we decided to check out the book section.

There’s always good humor in those two aisles.  All those disregarded Dr.Phil books, a shame. I always keep an eye out for three types of books:

1. Knitting

2. Quilting

3. Cooking

I know, how Martha of me.  Oh, speaking of, I did see a Martha cookbook from 1988 (I didn’t buy it though). There were no knitting books, one quilt book that didn’t interest me and what’s this? Not one, not two, but FOUR cookbooks.

Microwave cookbooks at that.

I thumbed through them quickly, as my son stood next to the cart in horror. 

“You’re not buying those are you?”

“Dude, it’s a sign. This is like the third microwave cookbook I’ve seen in a week. I think this is what I’m suppose to do.”

“As in….”

“As in, cook out of these, say once a week. Document it. Make you guys eat it.”

“MOM. Have you seen the recipes in this book? COME ON.”

I told him it couldn’t be any worse than this vintage jell-o cookbook.  I then proceeded to show him a recipe for cucumber jell-o. Let that sink in for a moment. Yeah. Did you throw up in your mouth a little bit? Mmmmhmm.

So there you have it.

Once a week, I will attempt to cook & document an entire meal cooked in the microwave. If you’re lucky, I’ll even blare my Jefferson Starship cd and maybe even feather my bangs.

 

2 thoughts on “Crash Test Cooking

  1. I don’t want you to only write about one thing. I want you to share all of your words and thoughts and dreams with us. I live for your writing. ALTHOUGH, I totally want you to make a regular feature on this blog of cooking in your microwave. Because that is for real crazy and I want to know how your family survives. 😛

    1. Cat, you’re so silly! I think I’m going to try and make it a Microwave Monday type thing. Although Monday’s are kinda crazy, so we’ll just have to see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

