Posted in Uncategorized

Hey Hey Whaddaya Say

Dudes.

It’s been a week, let me tell ya. Or rather, last week was a week, let me tell ya. No, that week sort of blended in with this week and well… you get what I’m gettin’ at.

Let’s recap, shall we?

Last Thursday I wore this to work:

ImageSuper cute, right? Mini skirt, cowboy boots, so forth and so on. I was feeling cute and awesome.  The day was pretty legit.  On my way home that Thursday, I was minding my own business, driving at a whopping 15 mph on the interstate, when out of no where…

A garbage truck side swiped me.

YES.

IN MY BRAND NEW CAR.  How brand new? I bought the car that came off the semi truck and had only owned it a month.

So, as you can imagine, I was pretty furious.  I was even more furious when we were on the shoulder of the interstate.  Doing what any rational human would do in this scenario, I got out of my car and started screaming.  Loudly. I was also using some extremely colorful language, which I’ll not repeat here. 

Then I threw my iced tea.

And swore some more.

Then truck drivers started honking and other drivers started cat calling.  So I turned to face them on the interstate and cussed them out too.

All while wearing a mini skirt and red cowboy boots.

After all this was said and done, the shop will have my car “a couple of weeks.”  Why?! Because, remember, my car is a 2014. They probably don’t even have parts for it yet.  This is what my car looked like:

ImageI know it doesn’t appear that bad, but I drove it to the car shop over an hour away last Friday. It wasn’t pretty.  Sigh. At least my Dad is happy that our rental is American!  

How about we move onto more awesome stuff?

I finished knitting another hat using self striping sock yarn.  Love!

I’ve also come to the realization that I cannot knit hats.  I just can’t.  This is my fate. I’m sure if I was still working at the coffee shop and had afternoons free, I could really dedicate some time to learning how to finish off with DPNs, but that’s not gonna happen.  I make the best of it though and the end result(s) weren’t too bad!

Also,

ImageEvery afternoon when I come home from work, MD and I lay on the couch together and watch Wife Swap. As a mother of a pre-teen (teen?), it always warms my heart when my son still wants to hang out with me.  So we lay there, he on the outside, eating snacks, hanging out with Murph and goofing off.  I snapped this in the hopes that it would be cute and I could send it to the grandparents and what not.  

Instead he farted right as I hit the button to snap the pic.

FARTED.

Damnit.

Anyway,  yesterday we spent some time up at the school.  Seventh grade officially starts TOMORROW! I have a hard time wrapping my mind around the fact that I have a child in junior high.  I can remember seventh grade. Ugh.  Although, it appears MD has his stuff together, is happy, content, a dreamer like me, hilarious and compassionate with others.  All of these things can go a long way in life and I’m really proud of who he is becoming.

I’m a little nervous about all these girls too, but hey- it’s like I told MD’s dad, “I’m fully prepared to be the Mom who shows off her gun collection to potential girlfriends.”  I also told Miles that if any girl he dates doesn’t know or like this song, he should question her ability to love.  I KID!

Also, over on Facebook, there’s a huge reunion of sorts with the old Vox community. I must say, it’s been really cool to reconnect with some of the old Voxers I read.  The whole group has this underground feel to it and I’m pretty sure that at any moment I’m going to self publish another zine while screaming L7 lyrics (Shit List anyone?).  Were any of you guys on Vox? If so, let me know if you’re in the group!

Other than all of the above, life has been really awesome.  There’s always good to be seen in the world and my motto each morning is to get out there and inspire someone. 

Or bake them cookies. 

Or give hugs. 

Oh and if you need something fun to do today, please print off the below photo of Henry Rollins.  His tattoo’s are missing and he looks so… vanilla. You can thank me later for the good time you’ll have!

Image

5 thoughts on “Hey Hey Whaddaya Say

Leave a Reply

